top of page

Who we are

The Competition has been conceived
and organised by "Czas Wina",
the biggest Polish wine magazine,
established in 2004. "Czas Wine" has been also succesfully organising the International Rosé Championship (since 2016) .
Each year the magazine awards the title of the "Person of the Year" to a distinguished personality of the wine world. In 2018 the title was conferred on Marchese Piero Antinori. Former title-holders include such eminent figures as: Warren Winiarski, Jancis Robinson MW, Antonio Rios de Amorim, Victor Schoenfeld,  Hugh Johnson, Patricia Atkinson, Michel Rolland, Jair Agopian and Agusti Torello Mata.

Michal Bardel

CCWA Executive Director

Michal Bardel Ph.D. is editor in chief of the "Czas Wina" magazine and International Wine Club Journal (in Czech). He is also head of a one-year postgraduate Wine Studies programme at Collegium Civitas University in Warsaw, VDP.Praedikatsweinguter  Ambassador, as well as an international wine judge, wine journalist and wine writer. He has published several books on wine including Zbrodnia i Wina, which was awarded the prize for the best Polish wine education book (Gourmand Cook Book Awards 2015).
bottom of page